蓮花 獎學金

蓮花獎學金計劃

盧勝彥佈施基金會致力於提供接受高等教育的機會。移民學生是我們社區的資產,在他們攻讀大專學位時,我們應給予更多尊重和支持。基金會的 蓮花獎學金計劃,為華盛頓州金郡(King)、皮爾斯郡(Pierce)和斯諾和米斯郡(Snohomish)新移民學生提供協助。該計劃的目的是為正在接受高等教育的移民和難民學生提供經濟支援,無論學生的移民身份如何。所有申請資料均嚴格保密。

獎學金金額

前兩年每年 1,500 美元,如果另外兩年在四年制大學就讀,則每年最高可達 3,000 美元。如果學生連續四年在校就讀,則獎學金總額可達 9,000 美元。
「蓮花獎學金」在首次獲頒獎學金之後,往後三年內可續簽獎學金。我們期待從獲獎首年度開始,該獎學金將連續四年提供學生申請使用。在極少數情況下,可作例外處理。
申請通過「西雅圖承諾Seattle Promise」計劃,獲得兩年大學資助的學生,仍可申請「蓮花獎學金」。他們大學前兩年將不會獲得資助,但如果他們就讀四年制大學,他們將有資格在第三年和第四年獲得每年 3,000 美元的資助,總獎學金為 6,000 美元。
第一年獎學金得主,在完成計畫的所有內容後,還將獲贈一台筆記型電腦。

申請資格

學生就讀金郡(King)、皮爾斯郡(Pierce)和斯諾和米斯郡(Snohomish)的高中,並將於申請的當年從高中畢業。我們不接受大學生的申請。
學生年齡21 歲以內。
在過去四年內移民到美國的學生。
學生計劃在高中畢業後就讀社區學院、大學、技術或貿易專科學校。
學生參加或註冊了大學預備課程(點看此處的示例課程 - 這些只是範例,若選擇其他課程也可接受。如果您有任何問題,請通過 coordinator@sylfoundation.org 與我們聯繫)。
學生必須承諾在大學期間參加’持續讀完大學’或其他支持計劃。
學生須同意參加虛擬視訊面試。
學生須同意參加蓮花獎學金的夏季研習班。

注意:如果您是無身份的學生,我們為您收集了信息和資源 在這裡. 學生們可以找到額外的獎學金機會 在這裡.

夏季研習班

每年夏天,「盧勝彥佈施基金會」都會與「華州完成大學 College Possible Washington」機構合作,為所有大一的蓮花學者(蓮花獎學金得主)提供為期數天的’準備上大學’研習班。我們期待學生皆能參加,除非出現無法控制與情有可原的情況。為期三天的研習班,涵蓋諸如經濟援助規劃、讀書與學習技巧、課程選擇和就業準備等主題。

新申請人的申請流程

  1. 收集一切所需資料並於申請時上傳:
    • 學校成績單清楚顯示所修課程和成績。
    • 提供以下文件之一,以證明自身財務經濟需求:FAFSA 或 WASFA 美國聯邦或華州的學生援助報告;家庭所得稅申報表; W-2年度工資扣繳單;或 DSHS 華州社衛部的福利函。
  2. 請使用 這網錄申請表格 ,每年通常在2月初時開始申請。
  3. 向就讀高中時的大學預科老師或顧問索取推薦函,並在申請書中提供他們的電郵信箱。他們將收到一個網路連結,用於完成線上推薦。請注意:請您務必確保您的推薦函已成功提交。請在截止日期之前與您的老師或顧問聯繫確認。
  4. 請在截止日期前完成線上申請,並提交所有資料。線上申請時,您不必一口氣完成,您可以在不提交的情況,先存檔保留您填寫的申請資料,稍後再繼續下個申請步驟。

新申請的時間表

  • 準備好的申請資料必須在線上申請表所註明的截止日期前提交,通常是在 3 月下旬。
  • 入圍準決賽的候選人將被安排進行虛擬視訊面試,通常在 4 月或 5 月進行。請注意,「蓮花獎學金」是透過競爭與篩選而獲得,並非所有申請的人都會獲取獎學金。
  • 候選人將在每年 5 月下旬或 6 月初獲悉其申請狀態。

蓮花學者續簽申請流程:

1. 續訂程序將於每年 5 月開始。 更新申請將在線完成。 所有符合條件的蓮花學者將收到電子郵件通知。 請確保我們有您當前的聯繫信息。 您可以將更新發送至 coordinator@sylfoundation.org。

2. 收集您需要作為申請的所有材料:

~ 顯示大學課程和成績的學校成績單; 和

~ 可以評論您的動機和外部支持水平的教師、大學堅持顧問、倡導者或學校輔導員的姓名和電子郵件地址。 我們希望確保您擁有留在學校所需的資源。 此人將收到一封電子郵件鏈接,其中包含一些需要在線完成的簡短的問題。 在提交他們的姓名和電子郵件地址之前,請先諮詢您的老師/顧問。 請注意:您有責任確保在截止日期前提交簡短表格。

3. 在申請中註明的截止日期之前完成並提交在線申請,通常在 7 月。 我們將與您聯繫,提供訪問在線續訂表格的說明。 您將能夠保存您的工作並稍後返回以完成申請。

有關申請或續訂過程的問題,請發送電子郵件至 Olena Vlasova at coordinator@sylfoundation.org.

Lotus Scholarship

Lotus Scholarship Program

SYL Foundation is committed to creating opportunity and access to higher education. Immigrant students are assets to our communities and deserve our respect and support in their pursuit of post-secondary degrees. The Foundation’s Lotus Scholarship Program provides assistance to recently immigrated students in Washington’s King, Pierce and Snohomish counties. The purpose of the program is to give financial support to immigrant and refugee students who are pursuing post-secondary education, regardless of the students’ immigration status. ALL APPLICATION INFORMATION IS KEPT STRICTLY CONFIDENTIAL.

Scholarship Amount:

$1,500 per year for two years and up to $3,000 for two additional years IF the student is enrolled in a four-year university for those two additional years. If a student remains enrolled in school for four consecutive years, the award could total $9,000.
The Lotus Scholarship is renewable for three years beyond the initial award year. It is our expectation that the scholarship will be utilized in four consecutive years, beginning with the year of the award. In rare cases, exceptions may be made.
Students who are eligible for two years of college funding through the Seattle Promise program may still apply for the Lotus Scholarship. They will not receive funding for their first two years of college but will be eligible to receive funding of $3,000 per year in their third and fourth years of college for a total scholarship award of $6,000 if they enroll in a four-year university during those years.
First year scholarship recipients who complete all program components will also receive a laptop computer.

Eligibility

Student attends high school in King, Pierce or Snohomish County and will graduate from high school in the year they are applying. We do not accept applications from students already in college.
Student is 21 years old or younger.
Student immigrated to the United States within the past four years.
Student plans to attend a community college, university, technical or trade school after graduating from high school.
Student participated or enrolled in a college readiness program (sample programs here – these are only samples and participation in other programs is acceptable.) Please contact us at coordinator@sylfoundation.org if you have questions.
Student must commit to participating in college persistence or other support program during college.
Student agrees to participate in a virtual interview.
Student agrees to participate in a Lotus Scholarship summer workshop.

NOTE: If you are an undocumented student, we have gathered information and resources here. Additional unaffiliated scholarship opportunities can be found here.

Summer Workshop

Each summer, Sheng-Yen Lu Foundation partners with College Possible Washington to offer a multi-day college preparation workshop to all first-year Lotus Scholars. We expect students to attend unless there are extenuating circumstances beyond their control. The three-day workshop covers topics such as financial aid planning, study stills, course selection, and career preparation.

Application Process For New Applicants

  1. Gather all materials you will be required to upload as part of the application:
    • School transcript that shows classes taken and grades.
    • Demonstration of financial need through one of the following documents: FAFSA or WAFSA Student Aid Report; Family Income Tax Return; W-2; or DSHS Benefits Letter.
  2. Access the online application here when it becomes available each year, usually by early February.
  3. Request a Letter of Recommendation from a college prep teacher or advisor and provide their email in your application. They will be sent a separate link to complete the recommendation online. PLEASE NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that your recommendation is submitted. Please check in with your teacher or advisor prior to the due date.
  4. Complete and submit an online application by the due date. You do not have to complete the application in one sitting. You will be able to save your work without submitting and continue later.

Timeline For New Applications

  • Completed applications must be submitted by the due date noted in the online application, usually in late March.
  • Semi-finalist candidates will be scheduled for a virtual interview, usually in April or May. Please note that this is a competitive scholarship and not everyone who applies will be awarded a scholarship.
  • Candidates will be informed of the status of their application by late May or early June each year.

Renewal Application Process For Continuing Lotus Scholars

1.The renewal process will open in May each year. The renewal application will be completed online. All eligible Lotus Scholars will be notified by email. Please make sure we have your current contact information. You may send updates to coordinator@sylfoundation.org.

2. Gather all materials you will be required to upload as part of the application:

– School transcript that shows college classes taken and grades; and

– The name and email address of a teacher, college persistence advisor, advocate or school counselor who can comment on your level of motivation and external support. We want to ensure that you have the resources you need to stay in school. This person will be sent an email link with a few brief questions to complete online. Please check with your teacher/advisor BEFORE submitting their name and email address. PLEASE NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that the short form is submitted by the due date.

3. Complete and submit an online application by the due date noted in the application, usually in July. We will contact you with instructions to access the online renewal form. You will be able to save your work and return to it later to complete the application.

For questions about the application or renewal process, please email Olena Vlasova at coordinator@sylfoundation.org.